“That’s one small step for man. One giant leap for mankind.”

Paul Segreto
2 min readJul 20, 2022

--

Today is the 53rd Anniversary of one of America’s greatest achievements. The photos below are from the actual New York Daily News newspaper that I’ve kept secure since that majestic day. I love taking it out every year to read the articles, to look at all the unbelievable pictures, to remember the feeling of pride that was seemingly evident everywhere. And, without fail my own tears of pride run down my face — tears of American Pride!

At the bottom of the political cartoon of the day was a classic quote from the Bible. I don’t recall anyone being offended by it. To my knowledge, there weren’t demonstrations about it. And I don’t believe it was meant to shove religious beliefs down our throats.

I saw it more a whisper to us… thank God the astronauts landed safely and ultimately, thank God, they made it home.

To me there’s not much stronger than our wishes, hopes and dreams and when they’re seemingly similar across a group of people, a nation, they could either lift us up or drop us like a ton of bricks, shattering our beliefs and along with it our wishes, hopes and dreams.

So, when we’re lifted beyond our wildest imagination our feeling of exhilaration, although a mere whisper is really us screaming from the rooftops and from the highest mountains… Thank God!

On this, the 53rd Anniversary of Apollo 11 Lunar Landing I proudly share the following…

I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

Have a great day. Make it happen. Make it count!

--

--

Paul Segreto

Passionate about igniting entrepreneurial spirit and empowering others to achieve the American Dream.